People who know Stannington have a chance to see part of a unique collection of old photographs of the village at Stannington TARA Summer Gala at Long Lane Playing Field, Stannington, on Saturday between noon and 5pm.
The archive has been donated to STAND (Stannington & District Library Group) by a life-long resident who has brought the images together to form a fascinating visual record of how Stannington and its people have changed over ttime.
This picture of the Peacock Inn and Smithy dates from about 1900. The Wesleyan Chapel can just be seen on the left. The Womacks lived in the little house between the the inn and the smithy which was owned by the Marsh family in the first half of the 20th century. Pot sales were held in the Peacock yard, and the Band of Hope projected picture shows on to a sheet suspended from a pub window.