Sarah Champion keeps Rotherham seat at General Election count

Sarah Champion
Sarah Champion

Sarah Champion has retained her seat in Rotherham.

The Labour MP had faced a challenge from UKIP’s Jane Collins, with the national spotlight on the town in the wake of the grooming scandal.

Also standing against her in the constituency was BNP leader Adam Walker.

In her victory speech, Ms Champion said: “There have parties trying to divide this down. I’m so proud Rotherham has said absolutely no way.

“We will get the pride back in this town together.”

She said afterward: “There have been a lot of parties and media trying to create division. Rotherham has said no, we are not having that and we do want to go forward.”

Ms Champion secured 19,860 votes a 52.5 per cent share of the vote, ahead of Mrs Collins with 11,414, a 30.2 per cent share.

Mrs Collins said she was ‘delighted’ with the number of votes she polled, saying: “It is a stepping stone for 2020.”

Conservative Sebastian Lowe was third wth 4,656, ahead of Liberal Democrat Janice Middleton with 1,093, TUSC’s Pat McLaughlin with 409, Adam Walker with 225 and English Democrat Dean Walker with 166.

See The Star’s live blog for updates from reporter Chris Burn, who was at the count.

More to follow.