VIDEO: Sheffield's Jarvis Cocker lines up new album

Jarvis Cocker with Chilly Gonzales
Jarvis Cocker with Chilly Gonzales

Jarvis Cocker, the Sheffield-born Pulp frontman, is to release a new album.

Cocker has teamed up with pianist and songwriter Chilly Gonzales for 'Room 29’ - a themed LP based around 'a song-cycle concerning the goings-on in Room 29 of the Château Marmont hotel in Hollywood'.

The album, which is out on March 17, was recorded by long-term Gonzales collaborator Renaud Letang at Ferber Studios in Paris.

The basic instrumentation of the album is piano and voice with the Kaiser Quartett contributing strings to several tracks.

Other musicians featured on the record include the Macedonian symphonic orchestra, Macedonia, flautist Nathalie Hauptman, French horn player Hasko Kroeger & soprano singer Maud Techa.

Cocker and Gonzalez will be performing the album at London’s Barbican Theatre from March 23-25, 2017.

Cocker, who grew up in Intake, Sheffield, said: “Featuring contributions from film historian David Thomson and the stories of famous former occupants of the room such as Jean Harlow and Howard Hughes, the show will also attempt to unpick the way a heady concoction dreamt up in the immediate vicinity of the hotel went on to intoxicate the entire population of planet Earth. Or, to quote the sub-title of David Thomson’s book The Big Screen, it is also the story of the movies and what they did to us.”

“For the duration of one evening the entire audience will be occupants of Room 29. You will be greeted by our concierge and you will be given a key. Sit down, get comfortable – it will be our pleasure to serve up a night of entertainment like no other: Room 29 may be a real location in Hollywood, California – but it is also a place within each one of us. Through this collection of songs we hope to open the door to that room for all those of you who wish to explore it. How’s that for Room Service?”

The tracklist of the album, which will be issued on the Deutsche Grammophon label, is as follows:

01 Room 29
02 Marmont Overture
03 Tearjerker
04 Interlude 1 – Hotel Stationery
05 Clara
06 Bombshell
07 Belle Boy
08 Howard Hughes Under the Microscope
09 Salomé
10 Interlude 2 – 5 Hours a Day
11 Daddy, You’re Not Watching Me
12 The Other Side
13 The Tearjerker Returns
14 A Trick of the Light
15 Room 29 (Reprise)
16 Ice Cream As Main Course