Basketball: Sheffield Sharks 102 Cheshire Phoenix 74

Sheffield Sharks v Cheshire Phoenix
Sheffield Sharks v Cheshire Phoenix

Sheffield Sharks reached the BBL Trophy Final following a comfortable 102-74 victory over a short-handed Cheshire Phoenix at the EIS. They progress to next week’s final at the Emirates Arena in Glasgow 176-134 on aggregate.

Sharks, who now have just one loss in their last six games, will play in their first BBL Trophy final since winning the competition in 1998 when Terrell Myers made the game-winning three-pointer on the buzzer.All the Sharks players made it onto the scoresheet, with BJ Holmes, Olu Babalola and Demetrius Jemison all scoring 16 points to jointly lead the Sharks’ scorers.

Sharks enjoyed a great night from beyond the arc, making 14 of 27 attempts. Micah Williams scored all 15 of his points from distance.

A pair of threes from Micah Williams allowed Sharks to jump out into a 9-4 lead before Phoenix fought their way back into the game, Stuart Thomson’s three putting them up 14-13.

That would be Phoenix’s last lead of the game though. A pair of threes scored by BJ Holmes started Sharks on a 15-4 tear that left them ahead 28-18 early in the second quarter.

Micah Williams and Nick Lewis both had steals in a run of 10 unanswered points that saw extended the Sharks lead even further to 42-23.

A 7-0 mini-break near the end of the third quarter saw Sharks further extend their lead to 26 points at 70-44 after a basket scored by Olu Babalola.

Phoenix hit straight back, Alif Bland’s dunk sparking an 8-0 run that reduced Sharks’ lead to 70-54 early in the final stanza.

Sharks responded in kind with Williams, George Brownell and Zach Gachette scoring treys as they went on a 9-1 run to take a 26 point lead once again, 81-55.

Williams hit back-to-back threes to spark a 13-2 run late in the game, further stretching Sharks’ lead to 98-65 before the Sharks closed out a 102-74 victory on the night, winning 176-134 on aggregate.

They now progress to their first BBL Trophy Final in 15 years.

Sharks scorers: Babaloa 16, Holmes 16, Jemison 16, Williams 15, Lewis 11, Tuck 8, Gachette 7, Brownell 6, Sing 4, Bridge 3