Sheffield United: Fans asked to vote for greatest ever player

Sheffield United supporters have been asked to select the club’s greatest ever player as part of its 125th anniversary celebrations.

A short-list of 30 names, including Tony Currie, Alan Hodgkinson and Jimmy Hagan, has been drawn-up by an expert panel with the leading three set to be inducted into United’s Hall of Fame during September’s gala dinner at Ponds Forge.

Fans can select their personal favourite, using voting slips available from the Redtooth Academy, superstore, box office and other commercial facilities, before 6pm on August 9th.

“It reads like a who’s who of Sheffield United,” historian John Garret said. “You just wish that these players could have all played together.

“Inevitably there will be some players who supporters think should have been included in the final list of 30. Others may be surprised to see certain names included.

“If nothing else the list will be a talking point and we want to see fans of all ages voting.”

Those attending the 125 celebration, which takes place on September 27, will also be given the opportunity to choose United’s greatest ever manager with John Harris, Ken Furphy, Harry Haslam, Ian Porterfield, Dave Bassett and Neil Warnock all nominated.

*The full list of players is: Len Badger, Michael Brown, Cec Coldwell, Eddie Colquhoun, Tony Currie, Brian Deane, Billy Dearden, Jock Dodds, Keith Edwards, Fatty Foulke, Billy Gillespie, Jimmy Hagan, Alan Hodgkinson, Glyn Hodges, Phil Jagielka, Mick Jones, Tony Kenworthy, Stuart McCall, Chris Morgan, Colin Morris, Ernest Needham, Doc Pace, Alex Sabella, Graham Shaw, Joe Shaw; Paul Stancliffe, Simon Tracey, Fred Tunstall, Dane Whitehouse and Alan Woodward.

*Tickets for the gala dinner start from £60 while tables of 10 cost £500 (plus VAT). For more information go to or telephone 0871 663 2462 to book.