Hare & Hounds escape the drop - plus Blades Superdraw League roll of honour

Blades Superdraw Premier Division champions Stannington Village (full picture in Grass Roots)
Blades Superdraw Premier Division champions Stannington Village (full picture in Grass Roots)

After being in the bottom two all season, Hare & Hounds escaped relegation in their final match as a 3-1 win over Loxley moved them up to third from bottom in Sheffield Blades Superdraw Sunday League Division One.

They needed just a point to move above Ranch - but they too are likely to stay up as it seems certain that only the bottom club, Dam House Bar, will be relegated.

George Rudd scored twice, his first a superb effort when strike partner Stef Rankine chested the ball down on the edge of the area for Rudd to swivel and hit a left foot half volley high into the Loxley net.

And leading scorer Rudd made the other, threading the ball through for Stefan Rankine to poke home.

Loxley pulled one back when a ball was driven hard and low into the crowded box and it hit Jon Rhodes before it looped into the net.

Loxley’s Mick Smith had skied four decent chances early on, with Tom Storey and Anthony Marshall also shooting well over.

Man-of-the-match for Hounds was skipper Daz Mitchell while skipper Tim Pitt was Loxley’s top performer.

* Roll of honour - CBC Premier, champions: Stannington Village (picture, back page); runner-up: Redmires; leading scorer: Jack Mylnek (Stannington Vill) 15.

Division One, champions: FC Handsworth Turf; runner-up: The Pheasant; 3rd:Norton Oaks A; leading scorer: David Sills (Aston Swallownest) 17.

Division Two, champions: Brinsworth Phoenix; runner-up: Hallam FC; 3rd: City Taxis; leading scorer: Joe Howsham (Hallam FC) 32.

League Kitlocker Cup, winners: Oughtibridge WM; runner-up: Stannington Village.

Steve Gee Merit Cup, winners: Aston Swallownest; runner-up: Brinsworth Whitehill.

League’s leading scorer (sponsored by twentytwo): Joe Howsham (Hallam FC) 32.

Best goal difference: Hallam FC 68.

County FA Sunday Junior Cup, winners: FC Handsworth Turf.