BREAKING: Sheffield Wednesday unveil retained list

editorial image

Sheffield Wednesday have offered new deals to five out-of-contract players, the club’s retained list has revealed.

Chris Kirkland, Kieran Lee, Glenn Loovens, Chris Maguire and Jose Semedo will all be offered new terms.

A total of 11 senior players have been released at the end of their deals.

Lewis Buxton, Giles Coke, Paul Corry, Rafa Floro, Dejan Kelhar, Gary Madine, Joe Mattock, Jacques Maghoma, Rhys McCabe, Matt Young and Kamil Zayatte will not be offered new contracts.

Head coach Stuart Gray told the club’s official website: “Releasing players is never an easy process because I have worked with these boys for some time.

“They are good, honest professionals who have given me nothing but their full support since I took on the role of head coach.

“I would personally like to thank the players and wish them nothing but the best for the future.”

The news came on the day the Owls announced the appointment of a third special advisor, following the addition of Glenn Roeder and Adam Pearson last month.

READ MORE: Owls bring in third advisor