World Cup draw: England face uphill task


England have been handed a tough group in the 2014 World Cup this evening.

Roy Hodgson’s side have been paired with Italy, Uruguay and Costa Rica in Group D. England face Italy in their opener on June 14. England lost to Italy in the quarter-finals of Euro 2012 on penalties.

The top two sides qualify for the last 16 of the tournament.

Group A: Brazil, Mexico, Croatia, Cameroon;

Group B: Spain, Netherlands, Australia, Chile

Group C: Colombia, Greece, Japan, Ivory Coast

Group D: Uruguay, Costa Rica, Italy, England

Group E: Switzerland, Ecuador, Honduras

Group F: Argentina, Iran, Nigeria, Bosnia

Group G: Germany, USA, Ghana, Portugal

Group H: Belgium, Algeria, South Korea, Russia

For full details, read tomorrow’s Star.