Local four taste glory at Lord’s

Dearne CC - containing four players from Sheffield club Hallam CC - tasted glory at Lord’s last weekend, winning the ECB Indoor National Club Championship at the home of cricket.

Captain Nick Dymock, who plays weekend cricket at Hallam, was presented with the trophy by former England legend Mike Gatting, after a tense five-run final victory over two-time finalists Bridgwater.

Dymock had earlier top-scored with 41 as Dearne posted a mammoth 166-5 off their 12 overs in the semi-final against Welsh side Neyland.

Hallam team-mates Mark Williams, Joe Cooper and Liam Mitchell all made valuable contributions with bat and ball as Dearne beat Bridgewater. Dearne’s Andrew Whaley, who made up the squad along with Greig Batty, said: “It was a great day, and we’re all so proud to have lifted the trophy at the home of cricket.”