Lock, Stock and barrel

Stocksbridge cc 1st team
Stocksbridge cc 1st team

It’s been quite a season for Stocksbridge Cricket Club.

The first team plundered the Division Two title in the Sheaf Sports Yorkshire and Derbyshire League in style, winning 17 of their 18 matches and amassing an amazing 430 points. The only game they didn’t win was a tied match with Millhouses Works 2nd X1.

Batsman James Ward hit the highest number of runs in the league 774 (seven 50s and one century) at an average of 71.62 while their leading wicket taker was skipper Andy Hibbert, with 52, closely followed by Jim Tomlinson who claimed 44.

Runners-up Calver owed much to Ed Coxhead who took 57 wickets.

Sheffield Transport and Hallam Thirds were relegated.

Stocksbridge’s third team made it a championship double when they topped the Division Five table - Sheffield Medics were runners-up - while the second team finished fourth in Division Three.

Holmesfield, led by their indefatigable skipper Jimmy Pearson, clinched the Division One title for the first time in their history after a winner-takes-all last day of the season victory over last season’s champions Millhouses Works. Parkhead, who kept up their challenge for most of the season, took third place and newcomers Hollinsend Meths finished a creditable fifth.

Apperknowle finished bottom place and were subsequently relegated but they did gain some consolation with victory in the league’s Winston 20Twenty Knockout Cup beating Holmesfield in the final at Millhouses Park.

Pearson was top run-maker with 701 runs over the season - five half centuries and one century - at an average of just under 47 and his team-mate David Ward was also among the runs making 678. Top wicket-taker was Millhouses Works, Brad Sampson with 78 victims.

Baslow won the Third Division title helped by Chris Cowley, who hit three centuries in his total of 742 runs, and Josh Keer who bagged 48 wickets at an average of under nine.

The runners-up spot was filled by Bakewell CC for whom skipper Paul Fearn played a lead role.

Three clubs were relegated and they were all newcomers into the league, namely TRS, Shardlows and Richmond.

Totley Sports Seconds and Hollinsend Meths Seconds were the top two sides in Division Four and Totley’s Nabeel Abdul had a superb season with the bat, cracking 767 runs.

The Second Teams of Hundall, Apperknowle and Hathersage all move down a division, next season.

There were 44 centuries scored and the top individual batting performances were: Jimmy Pearson (Holmesfield) 167no v Parkhead, Div 1; Jatinder Gupta (Sheffield Medics) 166no v Hallam 4ths, Div 5; Deepesh Bhojwani (Weston Park) 166 v Ridgeway, Div 2; Chris Cowley (Baslow) 160 v Shardlows, Div 3; Peter McGrath (Ashford 2nds) 160 v Whittington Wanderers 2nds, Div 5.

Four players managed to take nine wickets in an innings - Andy Langdale (Sheffield Collegiate 5ths ) 9-1 v Whitington Wanderers 2nds, Div 5; Paul Fearn (Bakewell) 9-16 v Sheffield Collegiate 4ths, Div 3; Brad Sampson (Millhouses Works) 9-26 v Hundall, Div 1; Dave Turner (Whittington Wanderers) 9-57 v Richmond, Div 3.

The League’s Representative team had a good season defeating a strong Derbyshire County League side in the LCC Trophy but then losing out to an even stronger Notts Premier League team in the quarter-finals.

Yorkshire & Derbyshire are looking to appoint new umpires for next season. An umpires course will begin in January and will be held at the Transport Club, Meadowhead. Anyone interested should contact Cliff Evans on 0114 2366834.

Final Tables:

Division 1 (all played 18): Holmesfield 369, Mill Works 356, Parkhead 327, Univ Staff 302, Hollinsend 273, De La Salle 227, Centralians 179, Hathersage 151, Hundall 140, Apperknowle 116.

Division 2 (all played 18): Stocksbridge 430, Calver 303, Dron Woodhouse 292, Civil Service 279, Grindleford 248, Weston Park 238, Ashford 222, Ridgeway 218, Mill Works 2nd 217, Parkhead 2nd 195, Hallam 3rd 185, Transport 149.

Division 3 (all played 16): Barlow 326, Bakewell 303, Univ Staff 2nd 251, Stocksbridge 2nd 239, Totley Sports 224, Whittington 190, Mill Works 3rd 188, TRS 145, Shardlows 93, Richmond 67.

Division 4 (all played 18): Totley 2nd 354, Hollinsend 2nd 340, Zingari 325, Walkley 289, Barbarians 2nd 258, Centralians 2nd 247, Coal aston 3rd 244, De La Salle 2nd 229, Youlgreave 223, Hundall 2nd 141, Apperknowle 2nd 139, Hathersage 2nd 125.

Division 5 (all played 16): Stocksbridge 3rd 329, Medics 314, Woodhouse 276, Hallam 4th 270, Baslow 2nd 244, Collegiate 5th 231, Civil Service 2nd 230, Barbarians 3rd 116, Ashford 2nd 107, Ridgeway 2nd 84, Whittington 2nd 65.