DELIGHTED HAWKS secure silverware on merit

Hope Valley Hawks
Hope Valley Hawks
Share this article

What better way to celebrate your first ever season of Rugby League than with some silverware.

Hope Valley Hawks did just that with a sparkling 72-36 victory over Sleaford Spartans in the Midlands Merit League Grand Final at Bromsgrove.

Hawks came from behind in a defining five minute spell just before the stroke of half-time to take a lead they would never lose. After twice holding up Sleaford players over their own try line and defending 18 consecutive tackles they marched their opponents up the field for five try hero Gethin Evans to land a sucker punch blow on the stroke of half-time.

Valley had a nervous opening and conceded early scores to a sizeable Sleaford side but they managed to stay in touch with tries from Connor Maskery, Evans, Rob Wells and Mike Shires until Evans made the breakthrough to nudge them in front.

Despite the sin-binning of feisty loose-forward David Warren the Hawks cut loose in the second half with further scores for Evans, Shires, McGuigan and Boam.

They then conceded two soft tries before they regained focus to add to their burgeoning tally.

Hawks had booked a place in the final after a comprehensive 46-14 victory at Leicester Storm A.

Tries from Boam and Evans and two from Shires, all converted by McGuigan, opened up an 24-4 half time lead and early in the second half Squires completed his hat-trick.

A rampaging run by Spencer set up Hopkinson to increase the advantage and then Man of the Match Williams set up Wells in the passing move of the game to make it 36-8.

The influential Spencer made yet more ground and Warren finished it off and shortly after Spencer did an action replay and this time McGuigan jinked through to complete a stunning victory.

The rugby league side will be up and running from April again next season but for those who fancy some Rugby Union the first games of the new season start on September 3. Training takes place on Tuesdays and Thursdays at Castleton Playing Fields from 6:45pm, and the club will run two teams this season.