Rugby Union: Champs Hope finish in style

Hope Valley finished the season as Champions of the University of Salford Leage 4 East in super style with an unbeaten home record.

But they were made to hard hard by Glossop 3rds in their final match of the season before a second half recovery edged them to a 13-8 victory.

The visitors took an 8-0 interval lead via a penalty and an unconverted try but Valley finally got some points on the board when Booth powered over and Jay McGuigan added the conversion.

McGuigan then put the home side ahead with a penalty after a high tackle on Hutchinson and then a rolling maul resulted in a Glossop player being red-carded and McGuigan kicked the resultant penalty. Valley had sealed the title the previous week with a crushing 65-7 defeat of second from bottom Tyldesley.

The irrepressible Jay McGuigan scored the first try and added the conversion and Woodhouse then scored out wide from the restart. Next up Tommy McGuigan passed down the line via his brother to Evans who scored and Jay McGuigan then bagged his second. It was Tommy’s turn to go over and his brother added the extras as Hope opened up a 29-0 lead.

Evans landed his second try and Jay McGuigan completed his hat-trick with a seven pointer. McGuigan was then rested at half time with his try tally for the season up to 34, equalling the record set last season by Hudson.

Skipper Tom Hodgson forced his way over at the start of the second half and although Tyldesley notched a converted try normal service was quickly resumed with a further try from Silcocks (converted by Allen) and two from Booth.

James Bines is to take over as first team skipper, with Hodgson stepping down after winning two championships. Tommy McGuigan takes over from Dave Warren as vice-captain.

Nigel Winder stays on as Hawks captain, with Gary Allen becoming his deputy while Adam Russell is named as Hawks rugby league skipper for the summer campaign. Bines was a double winner at the club’s annual dinner and prize presentation. He was named first team Player of the Season and also received the Players Player of the Season award.

Other prizewinners were: Leading Try Scorer, Jay McGuigan; Most Improved Player, David Sampson; Hawks Player of the Season, Kevin Tracey; Golden Boot, Mike Shires; Holwell and Unkles Memorial Award, Nigel Winder.