Titans to unleash fantastic five new arrivals at Bedford


Rotherham Titans boss Justin Burnell will unleash his five new dual registration signings as his side visit Bedford Blues tonight.

With eight players sidelined through injury, Burnell moved quickly to plug the gaps and brought in five men from Gloucester after reaching an agreement with the Premiership side’s coaches David Humphreys and Neil McCarthy.

Two of the new arrivals, centre Tom Hudson and flanker Freddie Clarke, will make their Rotherham debuts from the start while fly half Lloyd Evans, second row Joe Batley and prop Josh McNulty have been named on the bench.

Hudson will replace Joe Barker while Clarke has been preferred to George Oliver.

In other changes made by Burnell from the side that lost to Yorkshire Caregie last weekend, prop Tom Williams will replace Toby Williams and lock Miles Normandale has been selected ahead of Toby Salmon.

After consecutive defeats at Clifton Lane against London Scottish and Yorkshire Carnegie, Burnell is hoping that luck will change away from home this evening.

Burnell has called on his group to show improvement on the wide open pitch at Goldington Road tonight in the 7.45pm kick off.

“We need to mature as a group and mature quickly, and we need to improve if we are to do justice to ourselves,” said Burnell.

“Bedford are an expansive team which play attractive rugby and they’ve been helped because they have some Wasps players who are dual registered.

“I would like to offer a massive thank-you to Gloucester who have been a great help this week in arranging for five of their boys to join us.”

Rotherham take on a side that have won only once in five games, but opponents have felt that Bedford are too good a team to be 11th in the Championship table on eight points, and that this false position will change.

Rotherham Titans side to face Bedford: Goodwin, Thomas, Hudson, Owen, Hayes, Robinson, Dudman, Tom Williams, Graham, Herriott, Normandale, Hicks, Clarke, Grange, MacDonald.

Replacements: Maddison, Toby Williams, McNulty, Batley, Sanderson, Tresidder, Evans.