World Snooker: 'The Crucible Curse' - Who else has fallen down the years?

Stuart Bingham has fallen at the first hurdel
Stuart Bingham has fallen at the first hurdel

The 'Crucible curse' claimed another victim as Stuart Bingham became the 17th first-time world champion to fail to defend his maiden title in Sheffield.

Here are the world snooker champions who have fallen short on that mission:

Terry Griffiths (1979 champion): 1980, lost 13-10 to Steve Davis, second round

Cliff Thorburn (1980 champion): 1981, lost 16-10 to Steve Davis, semi-finals

Steve Davis (1981 champion): 1982, lost 10-1 to Tony Knowles, first round

Dennis Taylor (1985 champion): 1986, lost 10-6 to Mike Hallett, first round

Joe Johnson (1986 champion): 1987, lost 18-14 to Steve Davis, final

Stephen Hendry (1990 champion): 1991, lost 13-11 to Steve James, quarter-finals

John Parrott (1991 champion): 1992, lost 13-12 to Alan McManus, quarter-finals

Ken Doherty (1997 champion): 1998, lost 18-12 to John Higgins, final

John Higgins (1998 champion): 1999, lost 17-10 to Mark Williams, semi-finals

Mark Williams (2000 champion): 2001, lost 13-12 to Joe Swail, second round

Ronnie O'Sullivan (2001 champion): 2002, lost 17-13 to Stephen Hendry, semi-finals

Peter Ebdon (2002 champion): 2003, lost 13-12 to Paul Hunter, quarter-finals

Shaun Murphy (2005 champion): 2006, lost 13-7 to Peter Ebdon, quarter-finals

Graeme Dott (2006 champion): 2007, lost 10-7 to Ian McCulloch, first round

Neil Robertson (2010 champion): 2011, lost 10-8 to Judd Trump, first round

Mark Selby (2014 champion): 2015, lost 13-9 to Anthony McGill, second round

Stuart Bingham (2015 champion): 2016, lost 10-9 to Ali Carter, first round